Kentucky Women’s Hall of Fame


Women's Hall of Fame 1

Created by the Central City Business and Professional Women in 1982, this special collection honors women who have made significant contributions to the quality of life in their communities, the state, and the world. (The CCBPW is a member of the Kentucky Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc.) Among the founders were Maureen Turner Miller, Sue Wheldon, Wanda Doss, and Hallie Whitmer.  Located in the ground level of the Central City Public Library, the Kentucky Women’s Hall of Fame was established June 3, 2007 by the Muhlenberg County Public Library Board of Trustees with additional support provided by Representative Brent Yonts.

Women's Hall of Fame 2

Kentucky Women’s Hall of Fame Honorees


  • Lena Madison Phllips – First woman to graduate with honors from the University of Kentucky Law School; one of the founders of the Business and Professional Women’s Club – US & International.


  • Agnes S. Harralson – Published the Service Star News Letter during WWI, WWII, Korean &Vietnam wars; historian/author – Steamboats on the Green
  • Pearl Carter Pace – First woman in Kentucky to be elected sheriff Cumberland Co. 1937-41.
  • Thelma L. Stovall – First woman elected Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky


  • Helen Brink Glover -compiler of the Literary Map of Kentucky.
  • Loretta Lynn – Country/Western music artist; first woman named Entertainer of the Year by the Country Music Association; member of Grand Ole Opry & County Music Hall of Fame.


  • Martha Layne Collins – First woman elected governor of Kentucky (1983)


  • Marjorie Ann Burt- founder of the Founded Bethany Orphanage
  • Harriet VanMeter – founder of the International Book Project (1966) – a non-profit organization that promotes literacy, education and global friendships.


  • Alice H. Slone – Founder/director of Lotts Creek Community School (Cordia, Ky (1933)
  • Eula Hall – founder -Mud Creek Clinic (1973) in Grethel (Floyd County) KY. 1988


  • Mignon Doran – Founder & director emeritus of Personal Development Institute,  Morehead State University (former president of the Kentucky Federation of  Women’s Clubs)
  • Jessie Hill, Mildred Hill, Mary D. Hill, Patty Hill – Hill sisters credited with original music of the Happy Birthday song (1893)


  • Marilyn Wortham – Founder of Muhlenberg County Opportunity Center (1966)
  • Elizabeth Munday – Active in United Methodist Women and Camp Loucan,  Executive director of the Owensboro Senior Citizens Center.


  • Bobbie Ann Mason (born in Mayfield, Kentucky) – Author of short stories and novels; one of which was made into a motion picture about the Vietnam War (In Country – published in 1985)
  • Mary Rae Oaken – Director of Kentucky Tourism Commission and president of  both state and national BPW organizations.
  • Katherine G. Peden (born and raised in Hopkinsville, Kentucky) First woman appointed state commerce Commissioner (1963); first woman selected as nominee for U.S. Senate (1969);  appointed to the President’s (Kennedy) Commission on the Status of Women (1961), National President of  the Business and Professional Women’s Club 1961-62.